A Sad Goodbye

As students trickle in for the beginning of Term 2, so did some terrible news. One of my best (and favorite) students, Akulga Nsobonu, was killed when he was struck by a car over the holidays. He was 14. His absence on campus is felt. He was an incredible student, a good kid with a kind heart and infectious smile (literally don’t think I even saw him frown). He was my best basket weaver, and would often come to my house after school just to work on the baskets with me (meaning he would work, and I would sit with him in awe of his talents). A student who would go out of his way to greet me every morning, giving me a huge smile, and reminding me how lucky I am to be here. He was quiet and humble – didn’t need special attention or recognition. What hurts me the most is that he probably had no idea how much of an impact he’s had on me during my time here.

Unfortunately, life goes on here at school, and there is little mention of him. I guess this is my way of telling the world that he is not, and won’t be, forgotten. I never got the chance to tell him myself.

Nsobonu, may you rest in perfect peace.

5 responses to “A Sad Goodbye

  1. Lauren, how beautifully you honor him. I am all teared up too – feeling so sad for you and for that beautiful young boy. XOXO Beth

  2. Sometimes you don’t realize how people touch you until they are gone. We appreciate your news Lauren. A smile is a wonderful thing – and something to remember him by.

  3. (I thought I commented on this a while ago.) Lauren, I’m sure he did appreciated your relationship with him as much as you did his. From your description of his coming to your house, its obvious he valued your friendship tremendously.

Leave a Reply

